The Student Gymkhana at IIT Hyderabad has six councils under it. They are the Presidential Council, General Council, Science and Technology Council, abbreviated as the Sci-Tech Council, the Cultural and Literary Council, Sports Council and Media Council. Each of the councils is headed by a secretary who takes care of the functioning of each of their respective councils. The council also works mutually in conducting events for the welfare of the students co-ordinated by the president of gymkhana.